the music tutor.

Just another WordPress.com weblog

New find.

This one is really cool.

It’s called finetune. Here’s the description from Time Magazine (it was listed as one of last year’s Top 10 websites):

“This site plays the music you want, and the music you will probably like but didn’t know you wanted. Type in an artist’s name and you’ll find yourself instantly listening to full tracks from that artist (not clips), but you’ll also be provided with playlists created automatically or by other users with artists similar to the one you entered in. You can help improve the site’s “recommendation engine” by creating your own playlists or tagging music. Oh, and did I mention this service was free?”

I’ve already created one playlist, and what I really love about it is that I can browse everywhere on the site without the music that I am listening to being interrupted (can’t do that on Pandora). I can also preview other artists for 30 seconds and after the preview is over it takes me right back to the music I was listening to, right at the moment that it was interrupted. Cool.

It also has a widget that lets you put your playlist music “player” on your blog, MySpace page, or website. I already have that Project Playlist on my MySpace page, but I may switch it to this widget. The only drawback is that Project Playlist has more independent artists.That, however, is a minor concern. Its positives far outweigh the negatives.

Check it out. I think you’ll like it.

finetune 

1 Comment»

  Ryan wrote @

Check out our new desktop player!

http://www.finetune.com/desktop/

Hope you enjoy using it.

-Ryan


Leave a Reply

